13222-26 Western Avenue
Built in 1854
In 1858 Henry Bauer opened the first of four breweries that were to operate in Blue Island. A relatively small company, whose product was highly regarded, the Bauer Brewery was located just north on James Street and remained in business for 30 years. Brewers would tunnel into the high ridge to construct cooling cellars for their beer.
This unique house, which served as a home for the Bauer family and housed guests, was also used for early religious meetings and as a school for the German Evangelical Lutheran Society. The Bauer House is also remarkable for being one of the first made out of locally manufactured bricks.
Become A Member